Best Songs of the Week: 7 July

We take a look back at our favourite music releases from the past seven days with Best Songs of the Week. Explore the archive.

Jay-Z – The Story of OJ

Jay-Z didn’t waste any time following the release of his latest album, “4:44” with the visuals for “The Story of OJ”. The black and white video takes the form of a Disney-style animation, tackling racism and calling out a generation with money and no real plan. Jay-Z’s album is Tidal exclusive so unless you have a subscription you’re going to have to settle for radio or the video releases.

SKEPTA – Hypocrisy

Since dropping “Konnichiwa” Skepta has been putting in the work. To everyone’s surprise he released “Hypocrisy”, an anthem for the haters. The London emcee reflects on people disrespecting him online and acting differently in person. Catch Skepta and the rest of Boy Better Know performing at the BBK Takeover on 23 August at London’s 02 Arena.

Aminé – Blinds

XXL Freshman, Aminé recently announced he’ll be dropping his debut LP “Good for You” on 28 July. Ahead of the release he decided to whet our appetites with a little treat, “Blinds”. The track, which has already racked up over 50,000 streams on Soundcloud, gives fans a taste of what to expect on the new project.

Maleek Berry – Been Calling

It seems like Maleek Berry is taking inspiration from the hot London summer, “Been Calling” is a steamy tropical ode about mystery lady he’s stuck on. Mesmerised by her, he confesses ‘I seen how you gwarning / know they give me warning/ you put me on a long ting we ain’t even talkin’/ you ain’t even online but girl you got me logged in.’

Sonny Digital – LOOK AT ME NOW 

“LOOK AT ME NOW” came just in time for the Fourth of July. A bonafide track about success and proving the haters wrong, Sonny Digital celebrates his come up and gets real about the grind he put in.

Tyler, The Creator – Who Dat Boy feat. A$AP Rocky

Tyler, the Creator shows off his darkside on a new collab with A$AP Rocky “Who Dat Boy”. The quirky self-directed video, sees Tyler blow up his face up only to exchange it for new one courtesy of Rocky. Look out for Tyler’s new album “Scum F**k Flower Boy” dropping 21 July.


Ski Mask The Slump God is on a roll. Fresh from dropping his “You Will Regret” project, which includes features from XXL Freshmen, Madeintyo and XXXTENACION, the catchy fast-rap continues on “JustLikeMyPiss” as Slump waxes lyrical about his b*tch and diamonds, while Madeintyo switches up the flow with similar content to match.

Words by Daniela Campos & Verbal Vixen