Best Songs of the Week: 13 July

We take a look back at our favourite music releases from the past seven days with Best Songs of the Week. Explore the archive.

Dizzee Rascal – Wot U Gonna Do?

Grime icon Dizzee Rascal has released the video for his new song ‘Wot U Gonna Do?’. The second single from his forthcoming ‘Raskit’ album, Dizzee teased us back in June with a mysterious livestream announcement and single ‘Space’. Produced by Valentino Khan, ‘Wot U Gonna Do? sees an animated Dizzee delivering bars over dark and merky bass and synths, just like the good old days.

A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie & Fabolous – Wild Thots

A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie teams up with Fabolous on “Wild Thots”, a cheeky spin on DJ Khaled’s Wild Thoughts alongside Rihanna and Bryson Tiller. Boogie keeps it real and confesses to thinking about other girls while he’s with his boo. Bad Boogie.

Desiigner – Liife feat. Big Sean

Soon after releasing “Liife” featuring Gucci Mane,  Desiigner drops a revamped version with Big Sean.  An anthem for the haters and the fans who are on their grind,”Liife (Remix)” is that motivational music.

Eugy – Prize

British afropop artist, Eugy brings the summertime vibe on ‘Pride’. The second release off his Flavourz EP, ‘Pride’ is a feel-good dedication to a girl that’s got him infatuated. Eugy’s cracked the afropop formula and unsurprisingly this Team Salut-produced single, ticks all the boxes.

P Money – Real Talk

Grime emcee P Money adds a new chapter to his ongoing beef with friend-turned-adversary, Dot Rotten. ‘Real Talk’ sees the south London lyricist break his silence after a series shots taken by Dot via snaps, tweets and a Fire In Booth freestyle. P Money isn’t holding back, so this won’t be the last we hear from either side.

Trinidad James – Di$respectful

Trinidad James has been noticeably absent from mainstream hip hop since his 2012 hit, “All Gold Everything”, however you might be surprised to know that he’s continued to release music under the radar. With a comeback on the horizon, James drops the visuals for “Di$respectful”. After all this time away, it’s apparent that James’ style and sound has evolved. His debut album, “Fatha Figga” is out on 28 July.

Tyler, the Creator – Boredom

After Tyler, the Creator‘s visual release of “Who Dat Boy” and “911/Mr.Lonely”, he’s back to surprise fans with another release from his upcoming album, “Scum F*ck Flower Boy”. Expressing his weariness about life and friends, “Boredom” is about his struggle of also wanting someone to spend time with.

K Koke – Listen Likkle Man

With his new mixtape, ‘Pure Koke Vol. 4’ freshly released, K Koke hits us with the video for ‘Listen Likkle Man’. In what sounds like a diss for fellow North West London rapper, Nines, Koke takes a couple obvious shots. “F*ck boy you’re not certy/your brother died in ’06 and you dickheads in the hood giving out turkeys.”

The Heavytrackerz – Rude Boy Flex ft. Ghetts, Lethal Bizzle & Face

Producers HeavyTrackerz release their first track off their new and upcoming album Odyssey: A Musical Journey– “Rude Boy Flex”. An energetic anthem for flexin’- the rappers prove their ability to rhyme quickly, one to another aggressively showing their rapping skills. The gritty track with strong punchlines gives fans a taste of what will be on the album.

Roy Woods – Say Less Freestyle

Roy Woods announces a new album- “Say Less” with a Freestyle release on his Soundcloud titled the same. Planned to drop later this year, Roy Woods gives his fans a smooth freestyle reflecting on his successes and being part of the OVO family with Drake- where the Freestyle was aired on the OVO Sound Radio- Episode 47.


Words by Daniela Campos & Verbal Vixen