Burna Boy turns a corner on ‘Redemption’ EP

‘Redemption’ EP by Nigerian dancehall artist, Burna Boy hit the internet last month ahead of his London homecoming concert. A timely follow up to ‘On a Spaceship’, his 2015 sophomore album, ‘Redemption’ sees Burna Boy open up his innermost thoughts.

Produced entirely by former Aristokrat Records label-mate, LeriQ, this is a 90s inspired body of work.  The 7 track EP is heavy on the afro-dancehall and reggae, but also features trap influences in the form of ‘Plenty Song’ and ‘We On’.

It’s clear to see that Burna Boy is keen to show that he’s not afraid to share his emotions. Filled with lyrics about haters,’Pree Me’ explores what seems like paranoia about frenemies. ‘Redemption’ is light on party tunes, if that’s what you’re looking for, and instead provides a soundtrack to sit back and chill. Needless to say, the production is faultless.  Die-hard Burna Boy fans will want to blast this on repeat at high volume and in a year’s time the rest of us will forget this EP ever happened.

Rating: 7/10

Watch my full review and check out the tracklist below.

Burna Boy – Redemption EP Tracklist

  1. Pree Me
  2. Fa so LaTi Do
  3. Boshe Nlo
  4. Mary Jane
  5. Body to Body
  6. Plenty Song
  7. We On

Grab a copy of ‘Redemption’ on iTunes or stream it on Spotify.