Solange’s ‘A Seat at the Table’ is a keeper

Solange’s ‘A Seat at the Table’ comes eight years after her last major album, ‘Sol-Angel and The Hadley St Dream’. This 21 track project is a mix of neo-soul, funk and R&B and features both songs and personal accounts in the form of interludes such as “Don’t Touch My Hair”, “Cranes in the Sky” and “For Us By Us”. Solange has expressed that “#Aseatatthetable is meant to provoke healing & journey of self empowerment.”

The album features some solid collaborations with the likes of Lil Wayne, Sampha and more as well as interludes from her parents Matthew Knowles, Tina Lawson and surprisingly, Master P. Similarly, the production credits (and quality) are just as impressive with Raphael Saadiq, Questlove, Kwes and Dave Longstreth making their contribution.

Solange delivers a strong album that could easily be described as a politically charged “soundtrack” of the black experience and identity. ‘A Seat at the Table’ is the album you never knew you were missing until now.

Rating: 9/10

Watch my full review and check out the tracklist below.

Solange – A Seat at the Table Tracklist

1. Rise

2. Weary

3. Interlude: the Glory Is in You

4. Cranes in the Sky

5. Interlude: Dad Was Mad

6. Mad ft. Lil’ Wayne

7. Don’t You Wait

8. Interlude: Tina Taught Me

9. Don’t Touch My Hair ft. Sampha

10. Interlude: This Moment

11. Where Do We Go

12. Interlude: For Us By Us

13. F.U.B.U. ft. The-Dream & BJ the Chicago Kid

14. Borderline (An Ode to Self Care) ft. Q-Tip

15. Interlude: I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It” (Feat. Kelly Rowland & Nia Andrews)

16. Junie

17. Interlude: No Limits

18. Don’t Wish Me Well

19. Interlude: Pedestals

20. Scales ft. Kelela

21. Closing: The Chosen Ones

Grab a copy of ‘A Seat at the Table’ on iTunes or stream it on Spotify.